PDA

View Full Version : Irrational thoughts, Anxiety, Worried!

MrDJ08
08-25-2008, 03:15 PM
I have no one to talk to, and i've got a hell of a lot of stuff built up inside me so this may end up being a ridiculously long post! I apologise if thats not the way that this forum works as i'm new to it but i'll go ahead anyway....

I guess the whole story began over 4 years ago, when in an error of judgement, i cheated on my girlfriend. Having done this and confessed to it, we decided to carry on the relationship. I had a niggle that because of what i had done - i couldnt love her. That thought stuck with me, for some reason, an irrational thought which upset me stuck. I knew it was a nonsense thought that should have been thrown away, but it definatly stuck there.

It lasted a long time, it got me down and i had the same feelings which i'll describe later on - because i'm having similar feelings now. In the end, i ran through some stuff with a councellor and after a few weeks, i hit the road to recovery and all was well.

For the last four years, everything has been fine. I've been able to realise irrational thoughts were irrational, thrown them straight out and got on with my lofe. I can't say i've had one BAD day in all that time. I felt in total control. Forgot what it was like to have these thoughts. I could even look back and say to myself - "how did i get myself in such a state over nonsense thoughts"

That was untill last week. I dont know what brought it on, but one night, some comment was made over something i can't even remember, and, like being struck by lightning - i had a ridiculous thought (something along the lines of whether i could be a murderer - i know - stupid) and that stuck. I knew there and then it was ridiculous but it refused to budge. The night i went to sleep and this is how its been ever since....