PDA

View Full Version : Social Anxiety & Work

abluerwhite
05-18-2015, 12:55 PM
My social anxiety plus prior experiences are having a detrimental effect on my professional life.

A little run down: Once I graduated I was a nanny, and then got a part time job which I almost couldn't handle. Now that I am very used to it, it's not a problem at all.
However, I got a very stressful job which I despised in an office in a city two hours away from me. I had to quit after a day because the stress of commuting was too much for me to handle plus the environment was awful. I actually cried hysterically after the first day, went in the next day, and cried in public.

So now I just started this great internship and I'm back in school. I'm afraid to go back to the office setting again, and just afraid of it all in general.

I want to be able to approach jobs, and new things without being afraid!! I don't want to just push through the fear. I want the fear to be extinguished. I don't know how to even begin and if this is something I need to go back to therapy about or what. Anytime I have to deal with large changes it feels like my world is being torn apart.

Who else deals with this?

Mr Jingles
05-18-2015, 07:52 PM
Anytime I have to deal with large changes it feels like my world is being torn apart.
Who else deals with this?

I definitely struggle with this. Right now I'm going through many life situation transitions with many unknowns. Is not easy for me.

rissable
05-21-2015, 10:08 PM
You and I have a lot in common - I was also a nanny for a while, and most of my anxiety comes from work situations. And I feel exactly as you do, that I don't want to push through it, because even though I CAN, most of the time, it still HURTS to do that. Sometimes I wonder if it's so much to ask that I be able to wake up in the morning before work and not feel like the world is falling apart around me.

Im-Suffering
05-22-2015, 04:51 AM