PDA

View Full Version : New to this-- New to anxiety?

bunnyx14
05-03-2015, 12:27 PM
Hi... this is my first time posting on a forum and I'm not exactly sure how it works so I'm just going to post what I'm feeling / I have been feeling and hope that someone has some advice. I don't know if this information is needed but I'm a 21 year old girl, in college, I don't have any previous medical issues, I take birth control but that's the only medication I'm on, I'm moderately active, my father suffers from agoraphobia and panic/anxiety related issues.

I have not been diagnosed with anxiety so I'm not entirely sure I have anxiety but I have had occurrences of what I think are panic attacks within the past 6 months.

This sounds pretty dumb but, after a friend's pet rabbit died I started obsessing over the thought of death and dying and what's going to happen in my life. This wasn't the first experience I have had with death and pets/family/people dying so I'm not really sure why this affected me so much.

But, this really triggered the first panic attack I ever had. I was meant to be driving back to college on a Saturday to re-start classes on a Monday after Christmas break. But I couldn't sleep the night before because I was obsessing over what is going to happen when I die and why we have to die and so many other disturbing thoughts. I finally exhausted myself and fell asleep at 4 am. I was up at 8 am the next day and I was so irritable I started bawling my eyes out and my mother refused to let me drive back to college. She made sure I was calm throughout the day and let me just cry my eyes out for the whole day and relax and take naps until I felt better. The next day she drove me back herself and I felt fine after that.

But since then I have still had thoughts about dying laying in the back of my mind and constantly creeping into my thoughts on a daily basis.