PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety is affecting my career...time to change paths?

patos90
04-20-2015, 12:22 PM
24/m. After struggling with anxiety most of my life, I was formally diagnosed last week. I'm on day 7 of Prozac 10mg. Things are looking up, I'm noticing some improvements in mood and somatically (I also have IBS), and I know it takes even longer for the full effects.

I'm a smart guy, graduated from a good school with good grades. Am able to land jobs where I want. But I suck at keeping them. I work in marketing, and am now on my 6th marketing job in 3 years. Things always start out great but after a month or two I just lose all motivation and focus, and end up on Reddit for most of the day. No matter how hard I try, there's a wall preventing me from accomplishing tasks. I love to write, but I live with constant writers block at work.

With the meds now, I feel like I'm making progress at home but then walk back into work and the anxiety kicks back into high gear. I'm getting to the conclusion that marketing isn't for me - at least the me with anxiety. I need a job where I'm super engaged and can't escape off into internet land. I'm seriously considering going back to school to get a teaching credential for PE.

But that's the long game. I need help with the short game. Every day is a struggle. I spend most of my day at this job where I can't get anything done - and yes, it really feels like a "can't" - and it makes me feel terrible. What can I do?

gypsylee
04-20-2015, 08:48 PM
24/m. After struggling with anxiety most of my life, I was formally diagnosed last week. I'm on day 7 of Prozac 10mg. Things are looking up, I'm noticing some improvements in mood and somatically (I also have IBS), and I know it takes even longer for the full effects.