PDA

View Full Version : Cured - Found The Cause

Brichter
12-21-2005, 10:38 PM
Hi...

This may sound a bit strange. But hear me out. I have been suffering from panic/anxiety disorder for over 20 years. I currently have an open script for xanax ( have not taken one in months ). I have tried alot of psycotropics ( Prozac was my last ). I have suffered hard with this. I am a networking/computer consultant by trade. My hobbies include Gaming and digital photography.

Over the last several years I have been changing things in my life to see if I could somehow find what was causing all this turmoil inside of me. Diet, Excersise, Vitamins etc... Nothing helped. Same anxiety crap day in and day out. It was soooooooooooo old.

One day about 7-8 months ago I was making a mental list of everything that was in my life the last 20 years and a crazy thought popped into my head. I have been heavy into computers for 20 years. No way I thought. Thats nuts. How can a computer give me anxiety/panic disorder? Hmmmm... I waited for a slow week and stopped as much computer usage as I could. No gaming ( I could easily play games for 4-8 hours at a time ). No photo editing or art ( another time sucker ) . I kept my exposure at work to a minimum and took frequent breaks. Within a week my symtoms were were gone. I was floored. Gone... Nothing.

To make sure this was not a fluke I waited a week and went back to my old habits. 2 days later it was back.

I now use the computer lightly. I take breaks often. I do not game for extended periods of time. I do not spend time doing any kind of repetative visual activity. I watch tv lightly or not at all. I stay in motion as much as possible with different types of activities.