PDA

View Full Version : panic after getting poked by guitar string

hollandroad
03-28-2015, 10:09 PM
so my anxiety has been doing a lot better recently, but today i was playing my guitar and my thumb got pricked by the end of one of my strings. it didn't bleed or anything but now i'm freaking out that i could somehow get some kind of disease. someone please tell me i'm being stupid. i can't stop shaking and i want to cry.

gypsylee
03-28-2015, 10:14 PM
so my anxiety has been doing a lot better recently, but today i was playing my guitar and my thumb got pricked by the end of one of my strings. it didn't bleed or anything but now i'm freaking out that i could somehow get aids. someone please tell me i'm being stupid. i can't stop shaking and i want to cry.

Why would you get AIDS from a guitar string?

You're being silly!! :)

hollandroad
03-28-2015, 10:20 PM
i have no idea. my anxiety is silly and it's so frustrating.

Goomba
03-28-2015, 11:10 PM
As a guitarist, I have been poked by many, many, many, many, many strings.

I'm aids free!

gypsylee
03-28-2015, 11:20 PM
i have no idea. my anxiety is silly and it's so frustrating.

Well you just won't :) have you calmed down now?

Chauntecler
03-28-2015, 11:38 PM
You know, I used to get those weird thoughts from different things. Like, getting an STD from a toilet seat. Just believe us when we tell you, it's not gonna happen.

It's all about training your mind to think properly.

raggamuffin
03-29-2015, 03:47 AM
The warped reality anxiety can make you inhabit is a far cry from the real world. Give it a few weeks, look back on this occasion and you'll see how irrational and silly the worry was, but at the time - you panicked. you responded to a normal situation with emotion. So you felt scared, your fight or flight response kicked in and you believed there was danger (when there was none), so you got a shot of adrenaline and other chemicals in your body and you felt worse and probably got a whole host of other symptoms.