PDA

View Full Version : Girlfriend has anxiety. Too long on any topic causes her anxiety...

Kurt von Humboldt
03-27-2015, 01:01 PM
I'm dating someone who suffers from pretty severe anxiety and I've started to notice that it seems like I'm causing her anxiety with my conversational style. I often like to get really "deep on a topic". I've been accused of "kicking the dead horse" by people in the past. I really enjoy talking for a long time about serious topics, especially matters which are close to the heart. This seems to really cause anxiety for my girlfriend. If I keep the conversation light and don't stay on a topic for too long, especially anything serious in nature, she seems to be fine. But if the conversation becomes serious or dwells on one topic for too long it seems to trigger an anxiety attack. Is this a fairly common thing? I'm still learning how to interact with her in a way that keeps her feeling upbeat and positive. Does this mean I'm going to have to completely retrain my way of conversing? I'm a deep and thoughtful person, and honestly the idea of always keeping conversation light and not lingering on any topic seems daunting. Thoughts?

sae
03-27-2015, 01:24 PM
I'm female and spastic... I can't speak for your gf but I might offer some decent ideas.

Idea 1: Try a conversation with not so deep questions about her. A good one to start with is usually music or movies, whichever she is more interested in. Lead her into answering questions and let her talk. Chances are before long she won't be able to shut up.