PDA

View Full Version : General questions for anxiety that is affecting work

marc.knuckle
02-17-2015, 02:51 PM
Hi guys.

i have had mild anxiety for a while now, at least 6 months and at various times over the years also mild.

a month or so ago i had what i think was an unexpected panic attack during a meeting at work which included being flustered, struggling to talk and going hot and red in the face. luckily i managed to mostly cover this up. since then, even while interviewing individual customers in my office ( i work in a bank) i am feeling anxious, especially when reading statements off the screen or paperwork. it makes it even weirder as i have done this for about 16 years with no problems before.

my GP has put me on a beta blocker, prophanol or something like that. she said i could take 40mg morning and 40mg afternoon. i have been taking 30mg morning and 10mg afternoon which she said would be fine to split just 40mg across both times.

i am reading through Paul David's book At Last A Life and would love to say i am managing to ignore the feelings i get and try to live with it but after a better day yesterday i had a much more nervy day today.

as this happens most while at work it seems to be much more serious as i dont want to affect my livelyhood but it is something i have to do multiple times per day.

any suggestions and advice welcome.

p.s. i am also taking Kalms and having a couple of Chamomile teas throughout the day.

gypsylee
02-17-2015, 03:54 PM
Hi guys.

i have had mild anxiety for a while now, at least 6 months and at various times over the years also mild.