PDA

View Full Version : Progress

poseguer
02-05-2015, 01:37 PM
Hey everyone,

So about a month and a half ago I started experiencing severe anxiety, having panic attacks multiple times daily. I started developing specific phobias; I'm afraid of sleeping on my own, of showering, and of driving. I'm a student at UCSD living without my family, and I started to feel like I was drowning in my loneliness. I would study in coffee shops until they closed and begged me to leave because I was too afraid to be by myself. At the same time, I knew I had people who cared about me all around--especially my boyfriend and my friends, who cared about me. But I was too afraid to reach out to them.

I started going to therapy, but it wasn't enough. I was too afraid to see an actual psychiatrist, believing that medication was not for me. I finally did and was started on Trazodone and Celexa. Both of these had adverse effects on me; Trazodone made me manic and Celexa gave me suicidal thoughts. Then I finally started Lamictal, with great trepidation, as Lamictal is an anti-convulsant used to treat epilepsy and bipolar disorder, primarily. At this point I had learned to trust my psychiatrist, who showed genuine concern for me and changed my medication according to my needs; she never told me to "just suffer through it" and actively worked to figure out what would be best for me. But I couldn't help thinking, "What does it mean that I'm taking this medication? Am I actually bipolar? What is wrong with me?"