PDA

View Full Version : Love

mikecole114
01-29-2015, 06:51 AM
In the fear of sounding cliche I will try and evaluate the need and the availability of love.
I'm a second year history student from the uk and have no real science education but I just want to think about the physical properties of love

So what is it? If I was to think about it as purely animalistic evolution love is created in us to connect us to other beings long enough for offspring to be raised. By which time love becomes diluted, but love is just not for the need to raise a family you also love family members and friends, animals with no communications, homosexuals and lesbians and people have fallen in love with people they first meet.

How does science explain these unneeded attachments to another individual with no evolutionary answer?

Furthermore the recent release of Chris Nolan's "interstellar" and a very significant scene with Ann Hathaway she wonders how it is possible for someone in another galaxy to feel in love with someone in another, how can love cross all dimensions, gravity, time, space with speed but a consistent driving force for a small organism, does this make it the only consistent force anywhere in the known existence.
What does science tell us about love? It tells us that it is the last thing you will think about before you die. A image of your wife or child mentally spurs you to survive for them.

So the real question that I would like I ask is this. Is love there to push you to survive rather then to put the interests of your dependants, eg In the mind of someone who's drowning "oh no I got to survive this for my child." Or oh no I've got to survive this so I can continue to protect them and raise them.