PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety, university, intelligence

QuantumLocket
01-15-2015, 08:49 AM
OK, I have finally found some courage to actually post this....
I'm 20 years old and study natural sciences at university. Ever since I was a little girl I was curious about everything, adored studying, watching documentaries, reading books and learning something new. Memorising information and school were never a problem for me, in fact, people called me "the walking encyclopaedia". However, the hell for me began when I entered university.
I failed a lot of my exams even though I studied. Furthermore, the majority of my professors are rude, ignorant and do not have the slightest interest in their courses and students (morality of some of them is also questionable). I am realistic and I understand that I cannot change them (nor would I) but I do not know how to cope with them. I study a lot (so much that I am ashamed to admit how much). I attend lectures at uni every single day. I do not have problems with understanding courses, I have problem with reproducing it (for example, if professors ask me something about a problem I know what and why happens but do not know how to tell it). Is it possible that I am stupid and that during all these years have been living in an illusion that I was intelligent?
Most of my professors force learning by heart (yes, even though I study science). There are people from my courses who can easily do it and pass, but I can't.
It hurts me the most that my family and friends (I have family friends who helped me with some courses) spend so much money on me. They are all supportive and do not mind my failure, but I still feel bad. I do not go out for clubbing, partying, to bars etc. because I already feel so guilty for them spending money on my education. (I can't get a part-time job)