PDA

View Full Version : My first post and my story.

outofsighoutofmind
12-18-2014, 10:27 PM
Hi I'm not too sure how many people will read this. This is my first time posting on a forum like this. I've been coming on and off a lot of different anxiety forums for a while now, mostly reading other people's stories to help ease my anxiety and to make myself not feel so alone. This is the first time in 4 years that I've finally made the decision to post on a forum. I'm not too sure what I can accomplish anymore from this. I'm not trying to be pessimistic, but I'm in a perpetual cycle of anxiety that gotten me to the point where my mind has numbed everything and I'm not sure what's right and what's wrong. I've been going through the same motions that lead to this constant pain for the last 4 years. Every time I try and diverge to help myself feel better, I stop because it feels so foreign from what I'm used to feeling in my head. It doesn't have a sense of familiarity and it feels wrong and I eventually fall back into the same cycle from before. To explain, I have something I self dub as perfectionism OCD. It only strikes in terms of when I have to do something and I won't be able to continue unless I get it exactly right in my head. An example is reading an article on the internet, not understanding a certain part and not being able to move on until I fully understand it. I feel as though this is in part due the fact that I suffer from GAD (diagnosed from a psychiatrist) and one of the symptoms I went through was Derealization. To this day, I still feel disassociated from reality that's exacerbated when anxiety hits from stressful events such as finals (I'm in Community College). Lacking a sense of time; delays in physical feeling when I touch things; and just not understanding or being in touch with situations happening due to dissociation is at this point, driving me insane. I once heard that the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and