PDA

View Full Version : Long post but the main point is anxiety while driving

Lefreakc'estchic
12-15-2014, 04:17 PM
Hi, newbie here so not sure if this is the right place to post this but here goes. Hope you've packed a lunch because you're going to be reading for quite a while!

The main issue I want to talk about is driving anxiety but my predicament is a weird one so I need to give you a wee bit of back story first.

Since I was 14 I've had mental health problems (depression, anxiety, body dysmorphia and agoraphobia all interlinking) and I didn't manage to get to a stage of being 'high functioning' until the age of 21 (I'm now 24). A massive part of my recovery was achieved because I moved out of the unstable environment of my family home to live in the city where my university was based. Self-esteem increased as did my work load and social life. It was wonderful and this normalcy helped me to cope while my family life imploded with multiple tragedies (long story), one of which was my much-beloved-yet-emotionally-abusive father passing away in June this year after a horrific illness. I've now moved back home - which is in the middle of nowhere - after graduating and my depression/anxiety issues are pretty much regressing to how they used to be, minus the agoraphobia. Luckily I've found a part time job and have started driving lessons in an effort to maintain some shred of independence. The driving is very important to me as I need a license in order to progress professionally. Also it's starting to get embarassing when I randomly begin crying on public transport.