PDA

View Full Version : I'm not good at anything!

ovenbakedbread
12-07-2014, 09:32 PM
I'm currently feeling really overwhelmed from my own thoughts. I'm a 17 year old girl who is not talented at anything :) I can't play an instrument, I can't dance, play a sport, sing, draw, or any of that crap. For YEARS I've been attempting to try new things. Attempt, as in convince my mother to let me try those things and actually stick with it. Here's another thing: I'm a person who gets discouraged extremely fast. I give up on things a lot because I'm not good at them right away. I've tried guitar lessons and didn't like them because my guitar was cheap and I wasn't willing to practice. I've taken piano lessons and actually enjoyed them, it's just actually having my lesson gave me anxiety because my instructor came over to my house and I hate talking to people let alone play an instrument in front of them. I want to take dance classes because it seems fun and I need the exercise. But it seems like none of my friends are very interested in doing it with me and there's no way I'm going to a dance class alone. But there are so many things I want to try but I feel like I don't have enough time or that I won't be good at it and I'm just so stressed out thinking about it! It's like, I want to do something but I don't at the same time because I'm afraid I'll give up on it and disappoint myself. I just feel really stupid and immature right now but it seems like I just can't commit to anything. Ugh I hate myself. What do I do?

gypsylee
12-07-2014, 10:31 PM
Well then, it's not that you aren't good at anything, you just expect to be good at things straight away :) Sure, there are some people who are "gifted" at certain things and can just be great as soon as they start, but they are the vast minority. Most people have to work at things. You're still very young so just think - if you start something now and persevere, you will be very good by the time you are 30 or whatever.