PDA

View Full Version : constant rumination help please

desiredkarma
12-01-2014, 03:15 PM
hello i am new to this web site and hoping some one could help me with this problem i have. For the past 2 years now i have been dealing with what i thought was ocd...but i guess from doing so much research i realized that its rumination and it is come to the point it takes up my whole day and i do not know how to get rid of this..i feel embarrassed to even talk about this because i constantly worry about the most dumbest stuff that even i know should not even matter but i can't help my self can some one please tell me there stories and what they have done thank you.

jessed03
12-01-2014, 05:41 PM
Try the simple four step cure:

1. Recognize that you're doing it. Keep an awareness about you at all times.
2. Decide that the habit is useless, energy draining and unproductive. Decide you neither want nor need to do it any more.
3. Whenever you catch yourself ruminating, STOP. Label what you're doing as rumination. Remind yourself that it's just a bad habit.
4. Direct your attention to something else. Play a game, look out the window, focus on your footsteps as you walk. This won't stop it as such, but will be a deciding factor in training your brain not to put energy into the wrong places.

Do this over and over and over until the habit has been formed. Once you make it a habit not to ruminate, you won't ruminate, friend.

Your username suggests you may meditate. If you don't, start! It'll make the process of letting go of a chain of thought so much easier.

DrOnline
12-02-2014, 09:01 AM
I tried to handle my rumination. I tried catching it when I started, as jessed03 says, label it as a bad habit, even make a physical note of it in a small booklet: for later... To sort of store it for later, when I was rational.