PDA

View Full Version : Severe Tension??

bunnycake
11-11-2014, 07:19 PM
hello!! i've lurked around here for a long time but it's my first time posting. i've dealt w general anxiety/anxious episodes that last weeks for most of my life, and usually they are accompanied by a whole big range of physical side effects.

basically my anxiety spiked incredibly hard about 3 days ago, and since then i've felt increasingly more tense in my neck and head everyday to the point i feel so wound up i think something inside me will just burst.
even if i can push away the irrational thoughts of impending doom, the tension in my body makes me remember my fears again & again. i'm going to the doctor's tomorrow but i feel like i can't even last till then. doesn't help that i'm worried about my high blood pressure either. anyone have any tips on relieving some of the tension?

bunnycake
11-11-2014, 09:36 PM
hhhhhh my heart is beating really fast and i just want to sleep but i cant

superchick22684
11-14-2014, 10:17 PM
Have you ever tried progressive muscle relaxation or guided imagery? Progressive muscle relaxation involves tensing and then relaxing each muscle in the body one at a time until all the muscles are relaxed. I have found that when I feel anxious this distracts me and takes my anxiety level down. Guided imagery involves imagining a relaxing environment complete with what you hear, see, smell etc. My favorite places to use are the beach and the forest. This has also helped me reduce some of the anxiety and tension that I feel.

bunnycake
11-14-2014, 11:20 PM