PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety causing nausea even when not anxious.

Laker36
11-09-2014, 10:24 AM
Hi everyone

I'm very new to this but wanted to talk to and hear from other people who may have had similar experiences. I've always been a worrier but it has never really affected my health, up until this recent summer. I was doing a big internship in London (with a potential job at stake) and so obviously knew I had to impress. On the first day of the internship I was ill with some sort of bug that made me feel really really nauseas. This obviously hugely impacted on my first day (I had to leave the introductory meeting early and couldn't attend the social drinks that evening). I got myself so worked up that I would continue to feel unwell and nauseous - and so, of course, the nausea continued. At the time, before the thought of anxiety even occurred to me, I was convinced it was some sort of virus I had. 4 weeks later when I found out I got the job, my nausea and feeling of being unwell immediately vanished. Therefore, on hindsight I can see that it was myself and my own anxiety about feeling nauseous at work, making the nausea stay! Especially because when I really distracted myself, and first thing in the morning before I started worrying myself about it, I felt absolutely fine.

So all was well up until a couple months ago. I went to the Dr with pain under my right arm and on the right hand side of my chest. I was sent for xrays/blood tests etc to see what it could be, but that all came back clear. I started worrying about what it could be and found that I started to feel a tingling sensation down my right arm. I then, of course, made the classic mistake of googling these new symptoms which of course led me to the likes of ALS, multiple sclerosis etc etc. This then made me panic even more and for about a week I got myself very panicked. I went back to the Dr who told me it was my anxiety causing it. I also started to develop these other symptoms: