PDA

View Full Version : Escitalpram

CP9702
11-06-2014, 05:26 PM
Hello..this is my first post. I was wondering if anyone was taking escitalopram? I am new to the medicine. Im suppose to be taking 10 mg but have only been taking 1/2 because i had so many side effects at first and they finally have stopped. Just wondering when i do take the whole 10 mg will i notice a big difference? I dont really want to go thru the whole side effect thing again. Any help is appreciated.

jessed03
11-06-2014, 07:04 PM
It's always hard to guess how a person will respond to a certain med, or more specifically a certain dose, that's why the slow and steady approach is usually recommended. Seeing as you've done your time on 5mg, I'd personally feel a lot more confident trying 10mg again.

Anecdotally I struggled terribly on 20mg of citalopram, but after several weeks on 10mg, the jump was a lot more tolerable than it was with less time on the lower dose.

RealisticTrain
11-06-2014, 08:52 PM
Hello..this is my first post. I was wondering if anyone was taking escitalopram? I am new to the medicine. Im suppose to be taking 10 mg but have only been taking 1/2 because i had so many side effects at first and they finally have stopped. Just wondering when i do take the whole 10 mg will i notice a big difference? I dont really want to go thru the whole side effect thing again. Any help is appreciated.

Hi,

What sort of side effects are you experiencing? There are normal side effects that just happen as the body adjusts, and there are abnormal ones that should be dealt with immediately. For example today I had someone that was on luvox tell me they couldn't pee...obviously not a normal side effect and a pretty bad reaction. He had to stop taking them and had to deal with a catheter for a couple days. Embarrassing, yes. But it could have saved much bigger problems.
- Dr. Dan

CP9702
11-06-2014, 08:53 PM