PDA

View Full Version : Im tired of my als fear

tryingtocalm1
10-13-2014, 11:35 AM
Hi everybody, my name is jake and i have never done anything like this forum before but i believe it is time to reach out to people with similar difficulties who over came them to help to put my fear to rest. I am a 19 year old guy who lives a generally great life. I have friends and a job go to college and always trying to do something fun. Ive dealt with depression before but never anxiety and ESPECIALLY never health anxiety but apparently thats changed. It all strated in July on a day that I went thru some issues with an ex girlfriend. That night i layed in my bed and had the oddest sensaton in my neck and a feeling of numbness in my body. I googled (i know i know ) my symptoms and BAM i was having a stroke. I came downstairs and told my dad my concerns and he seemed completly unphased and told me to drink some water and to try to go back to sleep. In the days following i began having chest discomfort and shortness of breath and had an emotional break down and although my parents still believed im fine, i went to the doctor. He did a physical exam and asked me a few questions and then assured me im not having a heart attack at my age. I expressed how concerned i was due to the fact that i smoke cigarettes and dont eat very healthy (even though im not overweight) and he still said if that caused you to have heart attacks by 19 no one would live past 30. i admit that made me laugh. so i left the doctors office temporarily relieved until i had the sensation again but this time my entire left arm throbbed for days I was again positive i was having a heart attack and went back to my doctor to get an ekg which everyone knew would be fine and it was. Not one abnormality was seen. Once again i was healthy. In the following weeks i still had the pain in my left arm which would also travel to my right arm and my neck. I then discovered lyme disease and began spiraling down that path that b