PDA

View Full Version : About to Give Up on Partner Who Suffers From Anxiety

Leslie28
10-12-2014, 12:08 PM
This is my first time on a forum. I don't really know where to begin since I've been with my partner for 14 years, we are high school sweethearts. It's been a roller-coaster for sure. I'm 28, not married, and no kids. My partner suffers from GAD and Panic Attacks along with Hypochondriac and at one point Agoraphobia. I'm really re-thinking if this is something I want to deal with for the rest of my life. Just as it's going good, it gets worse again which I know is expected. Not only do we have other problems, this makes it even harder. For 14 years he blamed me for never being there for him, not knowing how to comfort him, or talk to him - making me always feel inadequate no matter what I did. Now he just told me, all those years it was him. He said he never wanted to open up to me so he blamed me for not being there for him. I don't even know how to process that. I'm so used to him not talking to me about it, now he wants to open up and express what he's feeling each day for an hour which I always wanted but for some reason, maybe because circumstances have changed (less intimate both physically and emotionally) - it seems very overwhelming to me especially when some of the things he tells me terrifies me or is just flat out ridiculous which he also knows. I have so much resentment for how he made me feel so inadequate all those years among other issues we have. I just want to say forget it all and move on with my life. I don't see it getting any better. I feel like I take the brunt of everything and sacrifice so much. I don't want my children to have to live through that. Most of all, I don't feel appreciated for all I do. I handle everything from the work,housework, planning things, etc. I don't feel like I have a partner. I don't have many friends so I can't really express myself to anyone. If I tell my mom, she takes it out on him which I don't want. I'm