PDA

View Full Version : My anxiety story from hero to zero :(

Ambition
10-02-2014, 03:15 PM
I'm new to this forum so I'm going to tell my story.

I had been anxiety free from 1991 to 2007. I got a degree in 1999 and was very confident. I would often run marathons and enjoyed long distance running often travelling long distances for race meetings. I also was quite sociable and had leadership qualities. In 2005 I finally passed my driving test after 7 attempts!

About 8 years ago I used to work as a guide taking students to London some 250 miles form where I lived. I was responsible for up to 60 children. I used to tell them the history etc. I really enjoyed my job. That was until I started to get visual migraines. Weird vision, blind spots etc for around 25 mins. But no headache. These scared the crap out of me even though I only had a few each year. But that really took my confidence, so I started to cherry pick much shorter excursions closer to home.

My mom always seemed to think I was unwell even when I was fine. She even grilled me asking what was wrong. I actually used to run marathons and was perfectly fit. But it got to the stage where I started to question, "am I well? Should I be doing this job" then the though of my responsibilities made me guilty. "Should I be taking vulnerable people on outings to London?" What if I passed out or something?" These migraines (which I discovered were cause by a dairy allergy) did not help and made me doubt my self even more.

2007-2009
Soon even doing the easier outings became stressful. I would feel unreal spaced out, fearing I could faint. I made the mistake of getting my Bus driving licence, so I could take the students in our minibus. I enjoyed this freedom at first. But then the guilt came back. Feeling spaced out I feared something was wrong with my Brain. Want if I develop seizures when driving? Having this extra fear After a year or two I quit my job.

2009 to 2012