PDA

View Full Version : Subtle Hyperventilation from Anxiety..

bjohn1203
09-17-2014, 09:21 PM
Hello all,

This is my first post and excuse me if there's a thread for this already but here is my experience.

Im a 23 year old, healthy male. Been healthy all my life but looking back I have always had bouts of anxiety but have been able to cope with them.
About 9 months ago, in January i had my first real panic attack after taking an Adderall and smoking a bit of weed. ( I know what I did was irresponsible, and I will never take someones medication ever again.) I took it because im a line cook and was becoming exhausted from the high pace work environment. I thought I was having a heart attack from the increased heart rate from the Adderall and the weed combined with the adrenaline from the panic. My mother was able to calm me down and tell me that i was having a panic attack and that my heart was racing from the drugs. Ive also been an avid marijuanna smoker for a long time, probably because it helped with my underlying anxiety. Ever since that day i was convinced i had hurt my heart because i could constantly feel my heart beat no matter what, and i still can today. I saw a doctor and he assured me that my heart was perfectly fine. A few weeks of relief that i was okay ended abruptly when i started to have scary heart palpitations again that felt like i was having the air sucked out of my chest followed by a heavy thud. Needless to say it caused EXTREME anxiety, so much that I didn't want to do any normal things like going out to the movies or to a friends in fear that i would have a heart attack or some sort of episode. It wasn't until recently that i was able to link it directly to anxiety because i was exhibiting numerous signs of anxiousness e.g. pacing, fidgeting, sweating palms, heart palps. About a week ago i started to focus a lot on my breathing because i felt like i wasn't getting enough air. Now this has happened before when i became nervous around a girl