PDA

View Full Version : Afraid of being alone??

kaybeee
08-29-2014, 03:46 PM
I realized my anxiety started at work over the summer whenever I had a shift where I had to work by myself. I was afraid of being alone for some reason...maybe in case something happened to me? In the middle of August I moved to a completely new city, a few hours away from my parents. I am a transfer student and my new college is hugeeee. I barely know anybody except for church friends, but I barely see them on campus because there are so many people. I have one roommate who is my best friend basically. She knows what I'm going through, but she has already graduated college so she is just working right now. When I come home from school and she's not there, I feel so alone. Even if I stay on campus at least I'm around people, but I'm around strangers.

Right now, I'm a bit sick. I have a small cold and a headache, but my roommate's boyfriend is over and he is going to a free concert tonight. I have a headache so naturally I shouldn't go, but I just don't want to be alone here. Is this normal? I just haven't really adjusted to living here yet. It doesn't feel like this is my apartment and my school and my city. I'm not used to it, but will I ever be? I wake up anxious all the time. I have a fast heart beat and can't stop thinking about all the things I need to do (even when I don't have much to do). I took a nap an hour ago and I woke up nervous because I couldn't decide whether or not I wanted to go to the concert despite my headache. I wouldn't even go to the concert for the music, I'd go just so I won't be alone. I'm not sure if my anxiety is getting better or worse, but sometimes it feels like it's never going to go away.