PDA

View Full Version : The feeling of "not being here" - depersonalization

Lilac
08-06-2014, 05:55 AM
Hey everyone,

I have been struggling with anxiety for some years, but recently I developed health anxiety. The past three months have just flown by, and it feels like I haven't been present in time and space.

As I have mentioned several places in this forum already, I fear a certain fatal disease. I have done all the tests, but keep saying to myself: "Well, it's been four weeks since the tests now, you probably have developed the disease now". As badly as I want to tell you all about every little symptom and "deformity" I think I feel and can see on my body, I'm not going to do that in respect of those who have health anxiety and might be triggered by such details. But what I do want to share is that I have been analyzing my body for three months straight. I find so many things with me that is wrong. I've taken pictures of myself, standing in front of the mirror, etc. I analyze my body at work, on the subway on my way to work, on the ride back home from work, at home in my own apartment, when I was on vacation, when I am out with friends, even in my sleep! I dream about this horrifying disease several nights in a row. I look for symptoms outside and inside my body. Inside we have pain, (subjective, not clinical) weakness, fatigue, tiredness, tingling sensations, heavy breathing, etc.