PDA

View Full Version : my anxiety returns. Need some help

07-26-2014, 05:09 PM
first of all I would like to thank everybody who is reading this I had of time thank you so much.
I have been fighting anxiety disorder for going on five years. My anxiety is usually centered around my health. It starts with some kind of strange feeling that I fixate on. The very first time I went through it was the worst I had muscle twitches and muscle weakness and of course a visit to Web M.D. was not any help! the first thing that popped up was ALS. Naturally this scared the hell out of me and sent me into a spiral of depression and severe anxiety, which in turn only made my symptoms worse.
eventually medical testing such as EMG eventually pulled me out of the spiral. And I found a therapist to talk to. Occasionally I would have doubts with anxiety and I found a psychiatrist who put me on Lexapro. Lexapro seemed to be working for a time until I had another bout of anxiety. Working at a high stress job was not helping at all either. Eventually I suffered a massive panic attack at work. It was my body's way of telling me it's time to change jobs. It was the worst experience of my life not to mention the most embarrassing.

I found a new job very close to home and my stress level went down dramatically. Around September 2013 I suddenly had another bout with anxiety regarding ALS fears. This time realizing what it was I pulled myself out of it by using a hand grip measuring device and taking readings every day for a couple of weeks. This worked out really well and the fears went away eventually. Not to give myself too much credit but my doctor also put me on Cymbalta to help me. I also started to see a fantastic chiropractor and a massage therapist.