PDA

View Full Version : Hypochondria gone, "real" problems making me depressed

MidM3d
06-21-2014, 07:40 PM
Earlier this year, I was suffering from hypochondria. Long story short, I had this great fear of dying everytime I showed small symptoms of a major disease (such as cancer). This could be due to the fact that 2 people I knew died this year and I feared that I could’ve been next. I am grateful that this problem is somewhat over, though it could come back later on.

Now, I have to deal with the real issues. What’s making me depressed and anxious is my future. This is due to my mediocre grades.
I am a 22 year-old university student studying accounting at an average-ranked university in Canada. After a bachelor’s degree, most accounting graduates strive for a designation called the CPA. To get into the CPA school, applicants must get a global GPA of 3 (though the average GPA of selected candidates is a 3.4), and they must get at least B- in many courses throughout their degrees, which includes very difficult classes.

So far, I am halfway done in my program. My GPA is a 3.04, but I did not get a B- in a few of the required . In addition, I do have a failure on my transcript, and might get a second one after my exam on Monday.
I am currently enrolled in a summer class. The class is about Canadian taxes, and it is required for me to get a B-. I did do this class in the Winter term, but I dropped it halfway through the semester because I had developed bad anxiety and it was to much for me to bare. I am heading into this exam with a 53% average and the final exam is worth 55%; I’m really not prepared.