PDA

View Full Version : Anxious -> '' Am I gonna make it ? "

Blitzy
05-18-2008, 05:19 PM
Hey people. I'm new on this forum. I've been reading throughout some posts but couldn't find anything like my situation. So here it goes :

I have self-esteem issues. I'm not afraid of talking to people or anything. In fact, I work out, I have a lot of friends, I feel normal when I talk to ppl I don't know, I never doubt my personality or appereance...
... but it's like if I always have to proove myself and that brings a lot of anxiety to me.

It all started in highschool when I was putting too much pressure on myself for grades and University, etc. Well, I got accepted into what I wanted and I'm now a University Student. My dream was becoming a military. Well, I served in the Reserves for about an year and had to quit because of my anxiety. I did not want to tell any of the staff there what I had. Simple reason :
When I have to do something on the other day, I get freaked out that I won't fall asleep. It will make me dizzy, I will not perform well, I will f*ck up somewhere. Then the next question pops out in my head : what will happen if I have to stay there for more than a day? If I don't fall asleep the first night I will make it, but what about the second one ... the third one ... while I think about that I become extremely anxious. Not as bad as before, I almost fainted on few occasions.
The thought of not falling asleep, thus not performing well is just killing me. Whatever it is. Even If I want to go camping, '' Will I fall asleep there ? What If I'm tired ? I won't be able to drive back home.". That kind of thinking really destabilizes me mentally. I am not handicapped because of my anxiety but I can hardly concentrate when anxious.