PDA

View Full Version : What to do?

oban
05-06-2014, 08:26 AM
Hi all, I'm a newbie...but I'm really trying to get a handle on my situation. In the past, I have felt anxiety, some ocd symptoms and maybe mild depression (which usually alleviates after an issue gets resolved). My mind is in constant rumination about how to fix things. My wife suggested I had ADHD, and a psychiatrist prescribed me Concerta (ritalin). I took it for two years, it was great for focus/concentration and feeling positive, but any big issues would ramp my anxiety up, so I stopped taking it. My biggest issue now is my relationship with my wife and children, and with my parents. She contends I would favour them over her and the kids, and it has led to a lot of issues to the point where we are close to divorce. I am an only child. The problem is, I think about them constantly, never criticize them, and any decisions I think (to myself) how that would affect them (maybe obsessing?). I won't hesitate, however to get mad at my wife. When I am anxious I mumble under my breath (and people have noticed). I argue with her about everything and how things 'should be', and even in front of the kids. I need resolutions to things. My parents get left out of things (basically because of the way they have been) and it causes me a lot of stress. I forget the conversations my wife and I have and the rationale behind things she says. I can be very irritable. She says I because of the way I am, I piss everyone off. I also sometimes laugh at the most inappropriate times (like when we're disciplining the kids or having a serious conversation). I sometimes come close crying over the silliest things. I also have difficulty playing with the kids because I am afraid of my mind spinning (usually about my wife and my parents, but really any stressful situation). She says sometimes I am not present, and doesn't trust me 100%. She looks at me sometimes like I am a mental patient. It has caused a lot of problems. I went ba