PDA

View Full Version : Can constantly worrying due to anxiety lead to not worrying or caring at all?

purple9812
04-29-2014, 08:13 AM
Hi everyone.
I'm currently a 21 year old student in my third year of uni. I have been constantly worried and stressed since I was a child and have constantly been suffering from anxiety/depression. My constant worry usually motivates me to study, and at school I ended up doing quite well in my GCSEs, achieving 1 A*, 9As and 2 Bs.

However, during Sixth Form I felt like I couldn't cope and spiralled downhill. I didn't do that well in my AS levels, and found it particularly difficult from September to January of my A levels in the second year of Sixth Form. I even considered dropping out, or dropping one of my subjects. The teachers were aware of how I was feeling. In the end I couldn't bring myself to do my Chemistry coursework, so I ended up getting 0 marks for 15% of the module. I also ended up failing my exams at Christmas since I had really bad brain fog and couldn't concentrate at all. I had to retake my Christmas exams during the summer. In the end I did ok, achieving an A and two Cs, but I know I could have done better. I was prescribed 10mg of Citalopram for one or two months during my A levels, but I think the dosage was too low because it didn't help at all.

I struggled in my first and second years of uni as I was constantly worried and stressed, and seriously considered dropping out, but I worked hard and managed to achieve a 1st in both first and second years. I was also prescribed Citalopram occasionally for a few months.