PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety while sitting

DannyD303
04-28-2014, 06:15 AM
Newbie here,
Over the past few months my anxiety has been getting really bad. I've always been nervous with the normal things (speaking in front of a crowd ect.) but now I find myself getting really bad anxiety when sitting down. It happens a few times a day while at work but almost always when I'm out to dinner in a restaurant. I'll be fine for about 5-10 minutes then start to feel dizzy and the biggest symptom that's hard for me to explain is I'll "forget" to breathe. I'll be sitting there and will be looking at something up close like the menu then get a gradual but quick feeling of pressure behind my eyes so I'll quickly look up to something farther away and will find myself taking a huge intake of air as if i stopped breathing for a few minutes. At the same time I'll also get a dizzy spell and I'll find myself swaying a little bit. After that happens I will have to consciously keep a track on my breathing or I pretty much wont breathe.

Its weird and I wonder if it might have to do with something physical because its worse when on a high chair (Buffalo Wild Wings bar tables) but if I stand I don't get the dizzy spells. I still feel anxious but it gets a little better.

I think it would be described as social anxiety because most times once I walk outside or even just walk to the bathroom I calm down. Occasionally I'll get a dizzy spell while walking but its pretty rare.

I've talked to my primary care physician but from what I've read and self diagnosed I believe it my be due to fatigue. I work 60 miles one way from home and I get up at 3:30 Mon-Fri and sometimes Sat and wont get home till about 4 or later depending on how busy it is at work. I try to get to bed by 7:30-8 but now in the summer its hard to do that.