PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety About Sleeping - Need help!

8damien8
04-07-2014, 11:32 AM
Hey guys,

I am having a lot of problems falling asleep at night. I just don't feel like I can "shut off".

It all started back in December, right after getting married, and moving into a house with my wife for the first time. The first couple of weeks, I was having a lot of trouble sleeping, most, falling asleep.

Then my doctor gave me a script for Zopiclone, and I basically used it (2.5-5mg) every night for a month. I was feeling really dependent on the drug, so I decided to try sleeping without out. NOTHING! Couldn't get to sleep at all.

So I went back to it. Since then, I sometimes try using Ativan, Klonopin, and Seroquel.

I've been using these sleep meds for roughly 3 months now, on a nightly basis, and I'm starting to get worried.

I want off them, and I want to sleep naturally, but I just can't seem to "shut off". I'm super anxious about sleep now as well, so as it approached, I get nervous, and even get hot flashes and anxiety while I'm in bed.

Has anyone been here?

mellymel
04-07-2014, 12:09 PM
Have you tried any deep breathing or meditation? That always helps me, I usually fall asleep before my guided meditation is over.

AliasEQ
04-07-2014, 12:34 PM
Hey Damien,

Yeah I had this problem too. What you need to do:

Exercise - Make sure you train hard to burn all of them stress hormones.

B-vitamins and magnesium - The B-vitamins will make you sleep like a baby. Magnesium will help to control your central nervous system.

Breathing techniques/meditation - Sounds like "meehh". But really give it a try, in 1-2 weeks, you'll actually see a difference. Here's a good one: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C8rkznuoHBs

Cut back on all the caffeine/alcohol/sugar - Just for now, cut back on the caffeine/sugar/alcohol.

Use the bed only for two things - Sleep and making luuuv. Nothing else. It's a place where you're supposed to relax.

I hope this helps :)

Elias

Kabukicho