PDA

View Full Version : Anxious in class around professors

kristydani
04-02-2014, 11:53 PM
I'm a 19-year-old university student and this problem has been making my school life hell. I know it sounds stupid but I just need someone who can understand me. I suffer from anxiety in general and am on medication for it, but my anxiety is always intensified whenever I have class. Particularly when I have very attractive, young, male tutors (I have a lot of them). I know it's stupid but I always find myself becoming attracted to these young, cute men. The ones I have felt attracted to have been in their late twenties/early thirties. I always try to stop myself and remind myself that I'm being ridiculous, but it never helps.

I become an anxious mess, and I usually go red and feel incredibly awkward. For instance - today in class we were doing a test and my tutor was walking around the room. Then I felt him looking at me a few times. Then I felt my face and neck turning all red and hot. This not only impairs my ability to talk normally to the tutor himself but also my ability to talk to other classmates and join in with group discussions. I then I get into this state inside my head where I think I must look horrible, and I don't want to talk to anyone because I feel so self-conscious, and I just want to get out of the classroom. I am anxious just being in class as it is, and then having this anxiety around the teachers just makes everything a million times worse.

How can I control my feelings and my anxiety in class? Can anyone relate?

Matsya
04-13-2014, 12:07 PM
Hi Kristydani,

I can relate to your problem. Myself got anxious around professors too. Not specifically young attractive men, but around the older very wise ones.
What can I say? For me they were like very impressionate rolmodels, to which, I felt, I couldnt come close to. But, because you are a 19 year old girl,