PDA

View Full Version : really need some help and answers please

aerostone85
03-30-2014, 01:53 PM
Hey all. My name is jenni and im new. Let me give you a little background. About 3 months ago i decided to come off my medicine for panic disorder. 2 weeks ago i had a major panic attack and have been bad ever since. I started my meds again. Waiting for them to work. My question is my head feels funny. Kinda like im dreaming. I dont sleep well so what the hell is going on? Anyone exoeriance this and have advise?

jessed03
03-30-2014, 01:55 PM
Hey jenni, welcome to the site :)

Sounds a little like derealization. Have you ever heard of that term before?

aerostone85
03-30-2014, 01:57 PM
No ive been experiancing it for two weeks. Will it go away? My anxiety has lowered some. Thank you btw!

jessed03
03-30-2014, 02:03 PM
You're welcome!

Derealization is a pretty common symptom of anxiety. Even on this site at the moment, many are experiencing it. It's something I've had a lot of experience with too.

It's a symptom of high anxiety. Which makes sense, as that's why we've all found our way on this site. At once point or another, we've all had higher anxiety than normal.

It does go. It isn't a permanent symptom, meaning no damage is taking place, or will take place. It's completely reversible and disappears. When that happens, depends mainly on your condition.

As your stress levels reduce, you'll find this symptom goes too.

Unfortunately there isn't too much you can do during a flare up of it. Understanding it is very helpful. Distraction is helpful too. Paying less attention to it always helps.

Medication does usually get rid of it, so as your meds settle, they should help eliminate it.

Do you have it all day long, or does it come on for periods?

aerostone85
03-30-2014, 02:10 PM