PDA

View Full Version : Derealization

leetbulldog
03-27-2014, 02:24 AM
Any advice how to make this go away?? :/

Flightless_Falcon
03-27-2014, 04:42 AM

I'm not an expert on this and I may have my facts wrong, so do feel free to correct me on anything within this post.

I think with some people it may go away but for others they will always experience it from time to time and I think that whether it stays or permanently goes is down to whatever is causing it. (Someone going through a bad patch in their life may stop experiencing it when they resolve their problems where as someone who has a life long condition may always experience it from time to time).

One of the most common way with dealing with this is a large group of activities known as grounding. There are many things from having an object to feel to having something very strong/intrusive smelling to bring you round and 'ground' yourself. If you google 'derealisation and grounding' you should find a few articles or forum posts that may help or give some better examples of grounding.

Have you looked in to grounding methods before and is the sort of thing you were looking for? Anyway hope this helps~

lucy88
03-27-2014, 08:33 AM
I know it's easier said than done but try not thinking about it and it will go I got it when I went out I just used to play with my house keys or put my headphones in and listen to music and eventually it got easier to manage and now I hardly get it but when I do I know it's only in my head and won't hurt me.

loganson28
03-27-2014, 09:36 AM

Hey leetbulldog,

Can you describe your derealization feeling?

I havnt looked up much information on it. But I've heard anxiety/stress can cause it. The way I describe mine is not a light headed feeling, more like, "something is off". I don't feel dizzy. But things just feel off to me. I can still function and continue with my daily work. But I just feel it.

leetbulldog
03-27-2014, 10:30 AM