PDA

View Full Version : How has your anxiety affected your romantic life?

DimpledDevil
03-15-2014, 08:04 PM
I'm just curious what everyone's experiences about how their anxiety impacts their love life? I feel like for me it's been a huge obstacle. I've always suffered from low-self esteem and low confidence so during my teenage years I've always felt like I was unattractive and that no man would ever love me. I was incredibly jealous of girls who had boyfriends and wonder why not me.

I have had boys interested in me but never was able to have that "relationship." Once I graduated high school and reached college I was in many ways a little more confident, but my lack of experience made me question myself which in turn looking back probably led me to second guess myself and miss out on guys who may have been interested.

Now I'm 30 and although I have dated men here and there I've been on many first dates, a few second dates, and maybe one or 2 third dates. I get very uneasy around men and convince myself that they don't want to be with me because of my lack of experience. Although I've been told by many that I'm pretty I keep telling myself that they can be with someone prettier, younger, skinnier, less neurotic, more sexy... Sometimes I think I'll never settle down and get married.