PDA

View Full Version : Exercise/Fitness

scatmantom
11-18-2005, 12:26 PM
How many anxiety sufferers here get regular exercise?
Ive hardly lifted a finger for a few years in terms of exercise...until today that is...At work we have started playin indoor soccer after work on a friday..i was so nervous b4 hand, all the regular thoughts (what if im rubbish, what if I pass out, what if what if what if)....but i stuck at it...nearly killed me physically....but glad i did it.

Ive been advised that regular exercise will help my general fitness and also...MY ANXIETY? is there are truth in that advice?

shoe
11-18-2005, 02:19 PM
I've been keeping up a fitness routine for a few months now, mainly cardio stuff but a little light weight training mixed in. It is true what they say, exercise helps both mood and anxiety, from my own personal experience anyway =)

There are plenty of articles that say exercise is a stress-reliever, as well as a mood-lifter, but I'm not recalling the specifics of how it affects different parts of your body and brain that produce those results. Obviously an improvement in your cardiovascular system will help you have more energy and overall endurance, and increase bloodflow and make your skin look healthier among other benefits.... but it would be an interesting research project to figure out just how specifically anxiety and mood are affected.

Hmm. I read about 'endorphins' being released by strenuous exercise that help your mood and are known to ease pain, but I don't recall anything about anxiety.. other than exercise being a 'stress reliever'. Okay, I'll put this research on my to-do list. hehe

dan

babycristy
11-18-2005, 06:49 PM
Shoe said: Hmm. I read about 'endorphins' being released by strenuous exercise that help your mood and are known to ease pain, but I don't recall anything about anxiety