PDA

View Full Version : Anxiety is taking over my life!!

ihateanxietyy
03-15-2014, 04:43 PM
Hi all I'm new to this, thought I might give you a quick run down on my experience with anxiety so far.

I have been diagnosed with a phobia of vomiting and anxiety. It came on in September 2013 so I have not had it long at all but it is forcing me to miss out on "the best years of my life" (I'm 18 by the way). When I get anxious I feel very nauseous and a little bit shaky which leads to more anxiety because of my phobia of vomiting. I've missed out on my high school graduation, friends 18th birthday parties, going out to dinner and have lost almost all my friends. All because I'm scared I'm going to vomit and have a panic attack out in public places.
I have been seeing a therapist (who refuses to prescribe medication) and it seemed to be working for the first three months but now i feel I'm going backwards to where I started. My mum is going to book me in to see a different therapist to get a second opinion and she's hoping I'll be put on medication to try and control this. I was just wondering if medication actually works and if there are any side affects like nausea or vomiting because I am petrified of that and if anxiety actually ever goes away???

Thanks so much!!!

butterfly82
03-15-2014, 06:49 PM
I don't have any experience with that type of phobia, so I'm not sure which meds would work for that. But I have panic disorder and Kolonopin works pretty well and at least not making them as Extreme as or frequent.

It sounds like you have a supportive mom, that's great!

I'm sorry you've missed out on some milestones in your life- but he good news is you are young and getting treated early, so you should be able to enjoy more things in the future.

SweetPea11
03-19-2014, 10:30 AM