PDA

View Full Version : Symptoms

tasia723
03-08-2014, 02:51 PM
So anyone feel physical symptoms like throat hurting, feeling off balance? Throat closing? Is this normal with anxiety? I have obsessive thoughts and it makes it 1000 times worse! I feel hot and feel like passing out! How do you calm yourself down?????

needtogetwell
03-08-2014, 04:02 PM
Refocus, refocus, refocus.

Tell yourself nothing is wrong and believe it!!

It sounds so simple and it is....it's also hard to do. Practice practice practice, it will become second nature,

Cheers!
~Pam

tasia723
03-08-2014, 04:09 PM
Thank you so much.....I am completely new to this it's only been a month or so since it started and the only thing that seems to really help is halls......as weird as it sounds halls make me feel like I can breathe.....I am trying to push through this without meds

needtogetwell
03-08-2014, 04:33 PM
Thank you so much.....I am completely new to this it's only been a month or so since it started and the only thing that seems to really help is halls......as weird as it sounds halls make me feel like I can breathe.....I am trying to push through this without meds

I don't think that is odd at all!!!!!
You have no idea how much Vicks Vaporub I go through when my anxiety kicks up and my chest hurts and I can't breathe!

If it makes you feel better....do it!

patches6996
03-08-2014, 04:35 PM
The throat issues were my first symptoms of anxiety. They did go away with time, but only when I stopped worrying about them. Read this- it helped me A LOT

When you suffer from anxiety, your body is constantly stimulating your sympathetic nervous system. This leads to an increased heart rate, increased breathing rate, and muscle tension, and in some people that muscle tension can cause the throat to feel inflammation. In many people, that feeling is described as a "lump in the throat." It may be referred to in medical circles as:
Globus Pharyngis
Globus Sensation
Globus Hystericus