PDA

View Full Version : Alcohol and Anxiety

Help16
03-06-2014, 04:47 AM
Hi guys, newbie here...

Just wondering if anyone else gets severe anxiety after a night of drinking. It's mostly my social anxiety that kicks in big time and I literally worry myself sick about what I said, what I did, if I was obnoxious, if I talked too much, etc. For example, I went out with my family last night and drank a bit (make that a lot) too much and even though my husband said I was fine, I've been up since 2am obsessing.

Does this happen to anyone else and of so how do you calm yourself down? I'm desperate to try anything at this point.

Thanks for reading.

bittersweetgirl
03-06-2014, 05:11 AM
Heck yeah. It's why I stopped/slowed down social drinking. I'm happy to have 1-3 drinks over a few hours, but any more is NOT worth the social anxiety the next day.

What's done is done. I've seen plenty of outrageous or just silly behavior from drunk people since I stay mostly sober. It happens. Honestly I think most people forget the drunk person's behavior quickly unless it's repeated several times. Sometimes it becomes a joke that friends repeat and laugh about, and that's not so bad either, if the person laughs about it too.

You're fine, I promise - just try to avoid it next time! :)

AliasEQ
03-06-2014, 07:03 AM
Alcohol and anxiety isn't the best combination. Try to avoid it as much as possible.

Like mentioned above, I don't think people will remember the person's behavior if it's not repeated several times. I don't think anyone will judge you, you were drunk. Just blame the alcohol lol.

I think you should trust your husband :) Wish you the best!

Kabukicho
03-06-2014, 07:05 AM