PDA

View Full Version : Fear of loss..is making me loose everything

BethBluebell
02-24-2014, 06:53 AM
Hi my name is Beth, I'm 25 years old and suffer from anxiety and anger of which I'm only now ready to admit. I sat down today and wrote out every trigger, reaction, fear that I have and it all boiled down to one thing. The fear of loss. I have pushed people away from me in the past due to my anxiety which ultimately results in anger. I'm an expert in pushing people away to test if they will come back. I'm now with someone who means everything on earth to me and I'm petrified if I don't try and change this now then I will loose him too. It's the loneliest place to be and I've no idea how to help myself out of this. If there is anyone out there who can relate I'd be forever grateful to hear from you. X

amielou
02-25-2014, 05:14 AM
Hi Beth, i'm Amie I'm also 25 and suffer from really bad anxiety. I can totally relate to you except rather than having anxiety and pushing away partners I have severe anxiety about my best friend, i'm terrified i'm going to lose her to someone else and the fear of her rejecting me is breaking me down really badly. I've been doing a course of CBT which I think is helping me deal with the issue of even if something did happen I would be ok, it is teaching me not to be afraid of these things anymore and to know that I will always be ok. It's hard to put your trust in someone when you have so much fear but slowly and surely you will be able to do it :) X

lostmyself22
02-27-2014, 03:08 AM
Hi there,

I am 30 and also have a massive fear of losing my partner. (u are not alone) I too have pushed everyone else away through 1 thing or another. I have had mild anxiety since losing my mum when I was 16, but started with bad anxiety after losing a child while pregnant.
since then I have had a little boy (I have 2 boys in total), that at the first sign of anything wrong sends me into panic. so I also have a fear of losing them.