PDA

View Full Version : Want to cancel holiday due to anxiety

Guybrush
02-21-2014, 05:17 PM
Hello,

I can't really decide who I am. Sometimes I can be a really outgoing guy who even encourages others to do things 'outside of their comfort zone'. I travelled around Europe for several weeks by myself last year, and had a really good time. I greatly enjoy my own company at some times, and find being around others to be exhausting. At other times, I crave to be around others.

Now, last year I graduated from university, and eventually found an entry-level job to hold me over. It is not enjoyable, and I finally decided to leave and go travelling for a short while, and then find a better job on my return.

This is all well and good. However, I decided in my infinite wisdom, that I wanted to go to Japan, and since it's Spring soon, it's the perfect time to go. I wanted to make a good use of the significantly more expensive flights than I am used to, so decided to book returns flights for just over 3 weeks in Japan. This was my first mistake.

I've really started to regret my decision. I think that once I get over there, I'm going to get so overwhelmed with unfamiliar things, hardly anyone who speaks English, incredibly difficult streets and transport to navigate etc etc. I'm also worried about getting ill and being on the other side of the world to every single person I know.

I don't know what to do. It would be such a waste of money to un-book the things that I have booked, almost 3 weeks salary. But I've just really started to panic about the whole thing. I should be ecstatic! I'm going to Japan, somewhere that I've always wanted to go. But because I'm going on my own, I think I've bitten off significantly more than I can chew, and it's actually making me quite upset.