PDA

View Full Version : Do you find having a pet to be therapeutic for your anxiety and/or depression?

kcladyz
02-17-2014, 06:56 PM
I have no family, no one to come home to for support. I bought myself two birds. I been thinking of a pet for years. When i was a child my dog was such a great source of emotional support. I already feel a little more positive and optimistic. They are such a joy to watch. It feels good to smile for once. I look forward to the point when they will let me hold them.

Does anyone here have pets and do you find it therapeutic to have something to love and care for?

Amy Smith
02-17-2014, 07:25 PM
I have two dogs, and yes, I enjoy being able to cuddle up next to them. They are a comfort to me.

Enduronman
02-17-2014, 07:34 PM
I have a new puppy (after I swore I'd not have another dog 36 years ago) so I'm still learning..he's only been here for 3 days..yay?....:)

E-Man..

NixonRulz
02-17-2014, 07:42 PM
My dod is fat as hell and lazy. But she is the best dog ever. Her name is Lane

Dahila
02-17-2014, 08:09 PM
I have none but thinking about rescuing one. I lost my dog 7 years ago and the anxiety went up to the roof. Hugging the animal; dog or horse; love them to pieces, always gave me a relieve. Now I just watch the birds, insects, and hummingbirds when they come to my garden, It calms me down, contact with nature does:)

jessed03
02-17-2014, 08:30 PM
Yes for me.

Especially because I have a silly cat, always making me laugh by jumping on the floor, or standing on the door handle or biting my hair :)

Applecherry
02-18-2014, 03:11 AM
Of course, besides being adorably sweet/loyal, they help you get away from yourself, because they need your care. I mean, sometimes I feel an anxious mood come over me, and then my dog will come over and want me to play her silly chase game, so I get up, run around the house with her, and get myself tired that I forget what I was even stressing about.

Dahila
02-18-2014, 07:52 AM