PDA

View Full Version : This is how it feels...

El Lukio
01-31-2014, 01:48 AM
Ok, so here it goes. This is my story. I’m going to try and write down exactly how I feel. This may be a long one as I have never done anything like this before and I’m hoping that it will help me to get these things out of my brain and into words. I hope it can also help others relate to what is going on for them. Anyway, here goes…

I have always been edgy and nervy but until recently, within the last year, I was always able to cope with these feelings. I could deal with them effectively in my head and then compartmentalise them, file them away. I never gave stress or worry too much thought and was ale to lead a happy and fulfilled life.

Something changed almost instantly. Whether it was turning 30 (I’m now 32) and realising that I perhaps wasn’t an invincible 20-something any more, or a minor health scare that really has had a lasting effect on my mental wellbeing. My family grew and so did my responsibilities. I now had to make sure I could provide for them; put a roof over their heads, food on the table and clothes on their backs. I became overwhelmingly obsessed that something bad was going to happen to me that meant my kids would grow up without their Dad. I’m sure some of this comes from me losing my own father when I was younger. I became convinced the same was going to happen to me.

It’s really hard to describe to somebody the way you feel. To have this ‘thing’ that clouds every thought for every moment of the day no matter what you are doing it’s always there. From the moment you wake until the moment you go to sleep it sits on your shoulder and muscles its way in. I like Winston Churchill’s ‘Black Dog’ analogy – that no matter what you do, no matter where you go, the Black Dog is always there to ruin it for you.