PDA

View Full Version : Having some trouble with getting to school?

savingkie
01-25-2014, 10:32 PM
Hi! As a little background, I'm a freshman in high school and I have hypochondria, emetephobia, GAD, and pure obsessional OCD. I've always been an honor roll student with a bunch of friends (Sorry if that sounds conceited, it doesn't seem to be the case anymore anyways :(). But recently, my anxiety has been severely spiked, possibly because of the change in schools (but it didn't even bother me for the first two months, I loved high school until the end of October) so I started an SSRI called Zoloft. All it did was worsen my symptoms and make me sick, so I went off it. But to get to the point, I've been having a lot of issues with school lately. Not only do I feel uncomfortable due to all the upperclassmen, which heightens my anxiety (especially because I think they all dislike me for some reason, and my friends are all really popular among the upperclassmen and I'm a bit more shy with upperclassmen than I am with my own grade, so that makes me a bit self-conscious and anxious, as I always used to be outgoing) I also highly dislike the fact that the high school is so large and seems like such a huge deal compared to middle school, and in result, my anxiety has been greatly heightened. It's been really tough for me to go to school lately, and I often get thoughts like "This is too much for me to handle"/"How much longer can I go to school for"/"What if I can't do this"/"School is too much for me, what if I have a breakdown and do something horrible like self harm"(As a sidenote, I've never self-harmed, I actually avoid it at all costs and I'm frightened of it, despite the fact that my OCD intrusive thoughts rotate around the topic of self harm) and I feel extreme pressure and apprehension whenever I think of school. Occasionally, I find myself not able to go to school and I have a complete panic attack in the morning, and my parents used to be extremely understanding