PDA

View Full Version : Are there "ideal" jobs for anxiety sufferers??

WinterLights
02-20-2008, 01:39 AM
Hi, I just joined the forums, so hello to you all!

I'm 22 and have horrible anxiety that has plagued me as far back as pre-school. This prevents me from having/keeping a job. I've only had 3 short-lived jobs so far, all part-time, all very difficult situations for me. The last one I kept for just 2 weeks and then quit because I couldn't take the anxiety anymore.

I do want a job in the sense that I need money and know that earning money will improve my self-esteem, and if it's even possible to make friends there or find that I'm good at a particular job or task I know that would be good for me too.

I have no college education, no training or knowledge in anything. I CANNOT deal with math or numbers, so being a cashier somewhere would be next to impossible to deal with. I'm not good with people, I get too nervous to talk or get my thoughts straight.

My biggest problem with working is that, since I have no real knowledge of how to do anything, everything is a big learning experience. When I'm anxious I FREAK out, can't concentrate, can't remember ANYTHING, can't focus on what I'm being told, so I literally cannot recall anything I was told to do 5 minutes ago. It's like my brain freezes. It makes it nearly impossible to be competent and learn what I'm supposed to do.

I don't know if there's any kind of job that is suitable for people with anxiety, but I thought I'd ask. I need something entry-level of course. Any ideas? I'd really appreciate getting some ideas, as I really NEED money.

joey9
02-20-2008, 12:51 PM