PDA

View Full Version : Hey in need of some advice

chellebooka
01-21-2014, 03:45 AM
I'm new to this but have been diagnosed with GAD for the last 6 years

I've had some bad issues with my anxiety over the last few
Weeks can't leave the house or go to work. Is there anythin I can do my meds don't seem to be helping

X

TG85
01-21-2014, 03:50 AM
Hi Chellebooka,

I'm brand new to this forum. I haven't been suffering for nearly as long as you, just a year, but I've been in a pretty similar place recently. It might sound crazy but what really helped me when I was at my worst was playing computer games! My husband felt like he couldn't do anything to help so be bought me a couple of games and asked me to give it a go and sure enough having something to distract myself, even just for a few minutes at a time, made a difference.

Hope this helps a little.
T

Nikkers
01-21-2014, 03:54 AM
That's very true for me too. I haven't been doing it so much lately as my depression leaves me just vegging in bed, but when my anxiety got really bad I would literally spend hours on my xbox distracting myself, it actually works really well :)

chellebooka
01-21-2014, 04:04 AM
Thanks

I do play a few games on my phone that help

I think as it plays on my depression it makes it more difficult to enjoy things not sure if anyone else has the same thing but the littlest things seem like a monster task

At the mo just getting up is a task.
My psych doc has left and I'm due a new one which I struggle with as I feel that they don't believe me when I have these days.

I just don't want to do this alone as It is really hard for me. X

KatieLouise89
01-21-2014, 04:04 AM
Hello Guys,

New to the site :) been suffering with anxiety and panic attacks a year now.

I find distracting myself helps too i was off work for 3 weeks due to starting meds and returned today..... I must say coming back has helped 100%

Feel a little normal and smiling again. Am having a few moments but nothing i cant handle.... x