PDA

View Full Version : OK, so here's me reaching out for help...difficult

masonmoore0824
01-12-2014, 04:09 AM
I have never participated in a forum like this, but I'm really worried about myself so I thought I would give this a try.

I'm 36 years old and have had anxiety and depression my whole life. It gets better or worse depending on life situations and/or medication. The anxiety has become so severe at times that even now, just looking at the number of threads in this forum is overwhelming to me. The anxiety and panic have been getting worse over the past few years, especially dealing with work. I'm a nurse and gradually over the past year it has gotten very severe. It got so bad that I would be worked up into a panic at the beginning of the day. Fast forward a few months and I got hurt at work. This threw me into a major depressive episode with continued general anxiety but less panic. I ended up losing my job which certainly didn't help with the depression. Throughout this time I was trying different medications for both depression and anxiety. I applied for many jobs and finally thought I had one when at the last minute they rescinded their offer. This caused a major setback. I was not sure what to do so I thought I would start school, which I had applied for as a "just in case nothing else comes up" scenerio. I've started reading for my classes and get overwhelmed immediately, so much that I have started having the panic attacks again, very similar to when I was working. I have increased my ativan for this, which does help but I just feel depressed overall thinking about having to deal with panic attacks throughout the whole time I'm in school. This school is to continue my education in nursing, which I'm not even sure is what I want, but again, I'm not sure what to do since I'm unemployed and been unable to find another job.