PDA

View Full Version : Distaction

Lord Jazzinho
01-11-2014, 09:17 PM
I was just wondering if anyone has an interests or hobbies they wanted to talk about. I've found that this is an easy way to break this ice in conversations but more important pursuing hobbies, interests and learning new things was a good distraction. I was in the house for 12 years and its nice to be able to say that at least I was able to use some of that productively

MiST
01-11-2014, 09:46 PM
Nice idea for a thread..:D

My main hobby, which is also now my profession is music production. At last count i have learned to play 39 musical instruments, none of which i claim to have mastered. At 15 i was invited to attend one of the UK's most prestigious music universitys when i had finished my schooling but i developed Cancer and was unable to attend.

I bought a cheap PC and used some free software from the DVD of a music magazine to start learning digital music creation and taught myself computer based synthesis and audio mastering.

I had a friend who was heavily into game development and i offered to work on the audio side of things for him, as it turned out his project was featured in a popular PC gaming magazine and his game actually got published in 1999.

I got hooked up with the internet around the same time and started working freelance providing stock music and audio assets for company presentations and advertising.

I tought myself how to code HTML/CSS and Javascript and built a website in order to gain a web presence and started offering my services to more people. I provided the audio on a few indie movies, none of which made it anywhere past the initial screening and discovered that it was a bit of a saturated market with to many big names to compete with and i was self taught, people like to see qualifications on paper no matter how suitable a person may be for the job.