PDA

View Full Version : Really really struggling with anxiety, please help :(

savingkie
01-10-2014, 11:00 AM
Hi! Sorry this is so long, you can just skim it if you want!

So for the past two months my life has majorly been going downhill. I'm a freshman in high school as well. Normally, I'm happy and bubbly and I love going to concerts, playing basketball and volleyball, playing the guitar, shopping, photography, and I'm a high honors student. I've had diagnosed anxiety since age 5, but never have I had depression. I've been diagnosed with so many different conditions such as panic disorder, obsessive thoughts, GAD, hypochondria, emetephobia, and more- everyone seems to think that I have different and or multiple anxiety disorders. Over Christmas break (about 2 weeks ago) my parents finally got fed up that I was having such a rough time and I got prescribed Zoloft and I've been on a subtheraputic dose because I suffered a bunch of side effects and got really sick (which doesn't help with my hypochondria.) I haven't noticed any difference still and my doctor said that I should go up to a therapeutic dose (40 mL or mg or something? whatever it's measured in) and I suffered severe diarrhea, nausea, and insomnia. I spent the majority of my Christmas break at home in bed because I felt sick almost every day from my anxiety and from side effects. I spoke to my doctor about all the side effects and expressed how I wanted to come off the medication but she suggested that I stay on it, so I am. I also recently went to the doctor for a blood test (which I haven't had in years) and I tested EXTREMELY low for Vitamin D, which effects seratonin levels and mood. Since sixth grade, I have noticed that my anxiety gets very severe during the winter, so Seasonal affective disorder was always a possibility for me, but it was just confirmed that that may be the cause of my torture during the winter, as I live on the northern east coast, so it's not often sunny during the winter and i