PDA

View Full Version : Do I suffer from anxiety?

Whatdo
01-09-2014, 02:46 PM
Hi,
I have a few life problems that sometimes put me in a depressed state, but most of the time I feel I can handle it, even though I'm not happy. I don't think I am clinically depressed because I can feel the difference of "being in a good place" and when my neurotransmittors are out of whack and "in a bad place".

All my problems are fears, but I don't have other anxiety related issues so I'm not sure if I actually have any disorder or whatever.

Problem 1: I'm a musician, and have always been doing music. It's what I feel is my #1 reason to live. The thing is I've been learning to sing and I have an undiagnosed problem with my voice. I take lessons but still struggle because of an easily identifiable but obviously not easily diagnosed issue. I think (hope) it's allergies, but fear that there is some permanent damage because I overused my voice in the past (and saw a doctor). I've had my voice looked at twice since then and both times they've said I'm fine. But the thoughts of, what if they were wrong, what if they missed something hard to detect haunts my mind. Maybe I'm fine, maybe I'm not. I don't know and I'm currently investigating (and have been for many months)

Problem 2: Relationships. Have been a complete failure at it in my teens, but not so much anymore. I still have problems in this area but I'm making progress and moving forward, so even though it's not "fixed" completely it's at least moving in the right direction. However I still beat myself up for how I tackled (or more correctly, didn't tackle) this area before, and feel like I've wasted part of my life on this (even though I'm just 21). Still don't have a girlfriend, so this is definitely a contributing factor but not the nr 1 factor: